The Σκέψις database was launched on the 8th October, 2014, and is currently under development. The current layout is therefore temporary.

Description of the editorial project

In regard to ancient times, scepticism presents a double phenomenon: a philosophical problem, the problem of the possibility of knowledge, but also a collection of philosophical traditions, the Pyrrhonian tradition and the academic tradition. The Σκέψις database employs XML/TEI encoding that brings together a range of texts on the sceptical phenomenon in ancient times and allows users the opportunity to access and study them.

There are three possible ways to access the texts:

  • by book collection (called VOLUMINA), where the reader can access texts in their original language and their (unpublished) translation in the editorial structure of the reference editions. This will allow users access to, for example, Sextus Empiricus’ Outlines of Pyrrhonism, Cicero’s Academica, etc.
  • by ancient sceptic philosopher (called SCEPTICI), where the reader can access texts (works, fragments and testimonies) attributed to the philosopher in question. The reader will thus be able to access, for example, the ensemble of eyewitness accounts on Pyrrho, Aenesidemus’ and Carneades’ fragments, etc.
  • by keywords relating to scepticism (called NOTIONES). The reader will thus be able to access a range of texts relating to sceptic problematics such as epoché, isosthenia, etc.

Parallel to these ways of accessing the texts, a bibliographic database will be offered, with entries for each philosopher accompanied by a biography.

Description of the technical project

Encoding of texts will follow the TEI guidelines, and more specifically those of EPIDOC. Conforming to the principles of digital philology, the texts – often fragmentary and constructed from citations – will be edited in a way to correctly cite resources by following the recommendations of CITE Architecture, and Canonical Text Services. The operation and dissemination of the corpus will be based on an XML native (BaseX) database and will benefit from the expertise of the Atelier des Humanités Numériques of the ENS de Lyon, using the application SynopsX.

home

Caveat

La base Σκέψις a ouvert le 08/10/2014 et est en cours de développement. L'état dans lequel vous la trouvez est donc provisoire

Description du projet éditorial

Dans l'Antiquité, le scepticisme désigne un double phénomène : un problème philosophique, celui de la possibilité de la connaissance, mais aussi un ensemble de traditions philosophiques, la tradition pyrrhonienne et la tradition académicienne. La base Σκέψις propose d'utiliser les possibilités ouvertes par l'encodage XML/TEI pour rassembler et donner à lire l'ensemble des textes sur le phénomène sceptique dans l'Antiquité.

Trois entrées possibles dans les textes sont aménagées :

  • une entrée par collection de livres (dite VOLUMINA) où le lecteur dispose des textes en langue originale et sa traduction (inédite) à partir de la structure éditoriale des textes tels qu'ils sont édités sur papier. On pourra ainsi lire lesEsquisses Pyrrhoniennesde Sextus Empiricus, lesAcadémiquesde Cicéron, etc...
  • une entrée par philosophe des traditions sceptiques (dite SCEPTICI) où le lecteur pourra disposer des textes (œuvres, fragments et témoignages) attribués au philosophe en question. Le lecteur pourra ainsi accéder à la totalité des témoignages sur Pyrrhon, aux fragments d'Enésidème, de Carnéade, etc...
  • une entrée par mots-clefs liés au scepticisme (dite NOTIONES) : le lecteur pourra ainsi disposer d'un ensemble de textes liés aux problématiques sceptiques comme l'épochè, l'isosthénie, etc.

Parallèlement à ces entrées, une base bibliographique sera proposée sur chaque philosophe, accompagnée d'une biographie.

Description du projet technique

L'encodage des textes sera fait en suivant les normes de la TEI, et plus spécifiquement celles d'EPIDOC. En conformité avec les principes de la philologie numérique, les textes – souvent fragmentaires et établis à partir de citations – seront édités de manière à exprimer correctement les différents niveaux de citations, en suivant les préconisations deCITE ARCHITECTURE, etCanonical Text Services. L'exploitation et la diffusion du corpus s'appuieront sur une base de données XML native (BaseX) et bénéficieront de l'expertise développée parl'Atelier des Humanités Numériques de l'ENS de Lyonà travers l'application SynopsX.